In 1920, the right to vote was expanded under the Nineteenth Amendment to include women. One hundred and two years later, we explore what it means to have your voice heard.

CCS has commissioned works from three of today’s leading women composers — Augusta Read Thomas, Lisa Bielawa, and Jessie Montgomery — that demonstrate the impact of speaking up and speaking out. As part of the day’s activities, you will also get to dictate a postcard to a real or imagined President as a part of Sheryl Oring’s participatory art project I Wish to Say.

Stay tuned for more information about this weekend of events celebrating women’s voices.


  • Fanny Mendelssohn: Overture in C
  • Lisa Bielawa: Voters’ Litany (world premiere)
    • Nadia Boulanger: “Prélude” from Trois pièces pour orgue ou harmonium
  • Jessie Montgomery: I Have Something to Say (world premiere)
  • Augusta Read Thomas: Far Past War (world premiere)
  • Dame Ethel Smyth: Mass in D (selections)
  • Dame Ethel Smyth: The March of the Women


  • Amanda Palmeiro, Soprano
  • Kristen Dubenion-Smith, Mezzo-Soprano
  • Issachah Savage, Tenor
  • Renée Anne Louprette, Organ
  • The Cathedral Choristers, Canon Michael McCarthy, Director
  • Cathedral Choral Society Orchestra
  • Steven Fox, Conductor
  • Sheryl Oring, Performance Artist