Summer Concert Series: Clarinet Sonatas: Past and Post

Thursday, July 7, 2016 | 6:30pm

As part of the Summer Evening Hours program, the Cathedral’s music department presents hour-long recitals starting at 6:30 pm Tuesdays and Thursdays during July. Admission to the Cathedral for Summer Evening Hours is a reduced flat rate of $5.


Clarinet Sonatas: Past and Post – Lauren Cook (clarinet) and Sam Post (piano)

The program combines one of the great masterpieces of the clarinet repertoire with a brand new piece inspired by memories of summertime. Brahms was so taken by a concert of clarinet repertoire he heard in 1890 that he came out of retirement to write two sonatas and his clarinet quintet. Kinhaven Summer is similarly inspired by the unique, singing tone of the clarinet, along with memories from music camp in Vermont. Says composer Sam Post, "Luckily, I got a head start on Brahms, having fallen in love with the clarinet from a much earlier age. In practicing the Brahms myself on piano, I can never help but sing the clarinet part out loud (as best I can), and it's the singing quality of the clarinet that works so well and that I tried to capture in my own music. The piece is sprinkled with different memories and traditions of Kinhaven, from folk dancing to falling in love."


Program2015LaurenCook (263)

Sam Post: Kinhaven Sonata (2016)

  1. First day of camp: allegro
  2. Ma Navu: a somber folk dance
  3. In the concert hall: andante
  4. Wally Wampus, Ghosts & Goblins: allegro sinistro
  5. Falling in love: a little waltz
  6. Manic nights: a ragtime dance


Johannes Brahms: Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in f minor, Op. 120 no. 1 (1894)

Sam Post

  1. Allegro appassionato
  2. Andante un poco adagio
  3. Allegretto grazioso
  4. Vivace



  • Dates Offered
    • July 7, 2016 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm