From the Canon’s Mouth

Friday, May 12, 2017 | 7:30pm

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791): String Quartet in C Major, KV 465
Johannes Brahms (1833–1897): String quartet in C minor, op. 51, no. 1

From the Canon's Mouth presents two jewels—conceived almost a century apart—from the sprawling canon of great Viennese string quartets. The first jewel is Mozart's KV 465 ("Dissonance Quartet"), a member of the composer's set of six string quartets dedicated to Franz Joseph Haydn, and a stunning specimen of Mozart's mature writing. The second jewel, of a remarkably different (but still stunning) cut, comes from the first set of published quartets of an admirer, performer, editor, and collector of Mozart's music: Johannes Brahms.

  • Admission
  • Dates Offered
    • May 12, 2017 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm