The Rev. Dr. Martha J. Horne

Martha Horne is Dean and President, emerita of the Virginia Theological Seminary, a position she held from 1994-2007 following eight years as Associate Dean. She is a conference leader for CREDO, a clergy wellness initiative of the Episcopal Church Pension Fund and recently completed six years as Dean of Presidential Leadership programs for the Association of Theological Schools in the US and Canada. She has served on the boards of St. Stephens and St. Agnes School and the National Association of Episcopal Schools and as Chair of the Board of the InTrust Center for Theological Schools.  Ordained an Episcopal priest in the Diocese of Virginia, she served on the clergy staff of two congregations in northern Virginia. . She earned her AB from Duke University and Master of Divinity, cum laude, from the Virginia Theological Seminary and is the recipient of honorary degrees from the University of the South, Sewanee, Berkley Divinity School at Yale, the Seminary of the Southwest in Austin, and the Episcopal Divinity School in Cambridge, Mass.  She and her husband McDonald Horne have been blessed with two sons.